Johns Hopkins UniversityThe Sheridan Libraries



Photo of a librarian helping students with research.
Staff DirectoryPersons With DisabilitiesContact UsSite MapHours

HomeLibrary ServicesOnline ResourcesCatalogsResearch HelpCollections

Ask a Librarian
How Do I...
Forms
My Account
About Us
Info For . . .
Giving
Search
LIBRARY BLOG

Spotlight

Arts Innovation Grants Now Available

Opportunities for Faculty and Undergraduate Students to receive funding to create new or strengthen existing
co-curricular or curricular arts/culture opportunities.  More...


  


Home > Research Help > Women, Gender & Sexuality Studies > Databases and indexes in the Humanities


Photo of old reviewsDatabases and Indexes:
Finding Articles

ONLINE INDEXES TO ARTICLES:

The following are available to the Hopkins community: on campus, or via proxy access.

Indexes in Women, Gender, and Sexuality

A complete listing of all e-resources, including databases that index journal articles..

Indexes in Sociology

A complete listing of all e-resources, including databases that index journal articles.

Indexes in History

A complete listing of all e-resources, including databases that index journal articles.

Indexes in Art History

A complete listing of all e-resources, including databases that index journal articles.

Indexes in English and American Literature

A complete listing of all e-resources, including databases that index journal articles.

Indexes and other E-Resources by Subject

Complete list organized by Subject

Notes about finding journal articles:

  • Some articles are available in electronic full-text and some are not.
  • Most databases have a link to our resources. Look for this icon Find It
  • This will link to the full-text if it's available, or the libraries' catalog to search for the hard copy.
  • Interlibrary Services can obtain articles from journals JHU does not have.
  • You can always ask for help finding a journal article at the Information Desk on M-level.


PRINT INDEXES TO ARTICLES 

While online databases are wonderful for finding more recent articles, most older material, and much of the specialized material, will be only indexed in print indexes. Be sure to check them as well, as needed.

In General Reference on M Level:

Women Studies Abstracts: 1972 - present. HQ 1107 .W6
Annual index to articles, with good indexes of Subjects and Authors.

Women's Studies Index: 1989- present. HQ 1180 .W662
Annual index to articles, organized alphabetically by Subject and Author name.








































STAFF DIRECTORY | PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES | CONTACT US | SITE MAP | HOURS

Sheridan Libraries
3400 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21218
(410)-516-8335
Copyright 2008 | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy