Johns Hopkins UniversityThe Sheridan Libraries



Photo of a librarian helping students with research.
Staff DirectoryPersons With DisabilitiesContact UsSite MapHours

HomeLibrary ServicesOnline ResourcesCatalogsResearch HelpCollections

Ask a Librarian
How Do I...
Forms
My Account
About Us
Info For . . .
Giving
Search
LIBRARY BLOG

Spotlight

Box Office Hits Available on DVD

Thanks to the generosity of the Friends of the Libraries, popular movies are now available for 1-week loans.  DVDs have been added to the current fiction and non-fiction books in the McNaughton Collection. More...

Archives 


  


Home > Research Help > Mathematics > Information Resources for Computer Science


                 Math problemArticle Databases and Other Resources in Mathematics and Statistics  

This page lists some of the resources that provide problems and exercises, journal articles, e-prints, background information, and other kinds of information. Please also look at the resources listed on the Mathematics and Statistics list on the Library's page of databases By Subject.

  • Encyclopedias -- for finding background information
  • Databases -- for finding journal articles and conference papers
  • Technical Reports -- narrowly focused reports that cannot be found through most regular information sources

Encyclopedias -- Use these to get background information.

AccessScience -- A general science encyclopedia that is continually updated. In addition to encyclopedia articles it includes definitions, study guides, and more. From the home page, you can choose "Computing & Information Technology," or you can type your specific keywords into the search box.

This link opens a new window - Info About AccessScience @ McGraw-Hill :  The Online Encyclopedia of Science & Technology AccessScience @ McGraw-Hill : The Online Encyclopedia of Science & Technology  (All US JHU)

Databases -- Use these to find journal articles and papers from conference proceedings. 

ACM Digital Library -- Contains the full text of articles from Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) journals and newsletters, and papers from conference proceedings. All ACM publications are covered from Volume 1, Number 1.

This link opens a new window - Info About ACM Digital Library ACM Digital Library   (All JHU (incl. International))

MathSciNet -- MathSciNet covers the world's mathematical literature from 1940 to the present. It contains signed reviews of mathematical research literature. Most of the articles have links to the full text. 
     Note: when exporting records to RefWorks, save MathSciNet records to the clipboard and choose BibTex as the format. Save the file. Use the Import function in RefWorks to import BibTex records. Choose BibTex as the import filter and MathSciNet as the database.

This link opens a new window - Info About MathSciNet  MathSciNet   (All US JHU)

Series -- The field of math has several significant series, and sometimes volumes within them can be tricky to locate. For help in searching for series volumes, go to "Tips for Finding Material in the JHU Libraries Catalog."

Lecture Notes in Mathematics -- We do not have online access to this series. If you search this under SERIES in the catalog, you'll get the entire list of 1770+ volumes, which you may then sort by VOLUME TITLE, VOLUME AUTHOR/EDITOR, or DATE.





Librarian for Mathematics and Statistics:
Sue Vazakas, 410-516-4153, svazakas@jhu.edu

Last revised:  December 17, 2006



STAFF DIRECTORY | PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES | CONTACT US | SITE MAP | HOURS

Sheridan Libraries
3400 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21218
(410)-516-8335
Copyright 2008 | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy