Johns Hopkins UniversityThe Sheridan Libraries



Photo of a librarian helping students with research.
Staff DirectoryPersons With DisabilitiesContact UsSite MapHours

HomeLibrary ServicesOnline ResourcesCatalogsResearch HelpCollections

Ask a Librarian
How Do I...
Forms
My Account
About Us
Info For . . .
Giving
Search
LIBRARY BLOG

Spotlight

Presidential Campaign Music and Memorabilia

From George Washington to George W. Bush, presidential candidates have captured America’s attention with music and memorabilia. Campaign music and souvenirs from some of the country’s most memorable elections are on display in the MSE Library.  More...

They Like Ike Sheet Music Cover

Archives 


  


Home > Research Help > Italian > Databases in Italian Studies


Databases and Indexes in Italian Studies:
Finding Articles

ONLINE INDEXES TO ARTICLES:

The following are available to the Hopkins community:  on campus, or via Proxy access, or the VPN network.

This link opens a new window - Info About MLA International Bibliography MLA International Bibliography  (All JHU (incl. International))

(1963-present). The best overall database for literary studies.  Provides access to scholarly research in over 4,000 journals and series.

This link opens a new window - Info About AIDA: Bibliography of Scholarly Italian Periodical Literature AIDA: Bibliography of Scholarly Italian Periodical Literature  (Homewood)

(1997 - present). Contains approximately 105,700 journal articles from 968 journals covering the Humanities and Social Sciences. The whole spectrum of Italian academic publishing is thus covered.

Italinemo: riviste di italianistica nel mondo.  Una banca dati bibliografica costantemente aggiornataA Web site that indexes many journals in Italian Studies.

This link opens a new window - Info About Humanities Full Text (also part of OmniFile full text mega) Humanities Full Text (also part of OmniFile full text mega)  (All US JHU)

(1904-present) Indexes over 1600 of the major journals in the humanities and its disciplines. With full text coverage from 200 publications.

This link opens a new window - Info About Arts and Humanities Citation Index via Web of Science Arts and Humanities Citation Index via Web of Science  (All US JHU)

(1975-present) Citation index to over 1,144 arts and humanities journals. Provides information on articles and all bibliographic references cited in them.

This link opens a new window - Info About Periodicals Index Online Periodicals Index Online  (All US JHU)

Indexes millions of articles in the arts, humanities and social sciences since 1770.  Includes journals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish and other Western languages.

This link opens a new window - Info About Project  MUSE Project MUSE  (All JHU (incl. International))

Searches the online journals of the JHU Press. Fulltext of articles now includes other presses as well; including Oxford University, Carnegie Mellon, MIT Press, Duke University.

This link opens a new window - Info About ITER: Gateway to the Renaissance ITER: Gateway to the Renaissance  (All US JHU)

Covers all literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).

This link opens a new window - Info About Essay and General Literature Index Essay and General Literature Index  (All US JHU)

Cites essays and articles contained in collections of essays and other works published in the United States, Great Britain and Canada. Focus on
humanities and social sciences.

This link opens a new window - Info About International Medieval Bibliography (IMB) International Medieval Bibliography (IMB)  (All US JHU)

A comprehensive, current bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) worldwide.

PRINT INDEXES TO ARTICLES 

While online databases are wonderful for finding more recent articles, most older material, and much of the specialized material from European journals, will be only indexed in print indexes. Be sure to check them as well, as needed.

BiGLI: Bibliografia generale della lingua e della letteratura italiana.

Annual index to articles and book studies in Italian literature. Fills in the gaps of the MLA, which is heavily slanted toward English-language sources. A bit difficult to use, and always years behind in publication, but an essential tool for Italian literary studies.
General Reference:                 PC 1073 .B53 (1991-1997, 1998-present is on order)

LIAB
: Letteratura italiana, aggiornamento bibliografico.

Covers materials published 1991-present but including all time periods of Italian literature, including books, articles, and reviews. Organized by time period, with several indexes, including Subjects, Authors, Keywords, Periodical titles, Publishers. A necessary complement to the databases.

General Reference:                 Z 2354 .C8 L474 


Romanische Bibliographie
.

An annual publication of work in the field of Romance languages and literature. Each year includes a large section on Italian literature, arranged by time period, and then by author. Includes a lot of non-English sources. A resource not to be overlooked.

D Level (1985-2001):              Blue Labels PC 3 .Z481

Libraries Service Center (1975-1984):  PC 3 .Z481  

Libraries Service Center (1875-1974):  PF 3 .Z42

Letteratura italiana.

A very important, large set on Italian literature, in 8 parts: I maggiori (2 vol.), I minori (4 vol.), Le corrente (2 vol.), I contemporanei (6 vol.), I critici (5 vol.), Novecento (10 vol.), Novecent le avantguardie lettarie (3 vol.). Individual articles on writers, with a Bibliografia at the end of each. Many lesser-known writers are included, as well as the big names. Volume 5 is particularly useful: it is a Repertorio biliografico of writers not included in the set. Obscure writers not found elsewhere, as well as good background and bibliographies on major writers and movements.
D Level:                          PG 1003 .L4

The year's work in modern language studies.
Critically assess major articles, books and new editions. Better coverage of English language than Italian language publications. Very useful introduction to recent secondary literature.
Libraries Service Center  1929-1974:      PD 1 .Y39
D Level   1975-2000:               PB 1 .Y45

For a compete listing of indexes, see Guide to Research in Italian Literature: Secondary Literature.








































STAFF DIRECTORY | PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES | CONTACT US | SITE MAP | HOURS

Sheridan Libraries
3400 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21218
(410)-516-8335
Copyright 2008 | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy