Johns Hopkins UniversityThe Sheridan Libraries



Photo of a librarian helping students with research.
Staff DirectoryPersons With DisabilitiesContact UsSite MapHours

HomeLibrary ServicesOnline ResourcesCatalogsResearch HelpCollections

Ask a Librarian
How Do I...
Forms
My Account
About Us
Info For . . .
Giving
Search
LIBRARY BLOG

Spotlight

Box Office Hits Available on DVD

Thanks to the generosity of the Friends of the Libraries, popular movies are now available for 1-week loans.  DVDs have been added to the current fiction and non-fiction books in the McNaughton Collection. More...

Archives 


  


Home > Research Help > Earth and Environmental Sciences > Databases


 

NOAA graphic of earths atmosphere

Databases for Earth and Environmental Sciences


Databases

The following databases are electronic indexes to journals in a variety of earth and environmental science fields. They provide bibliographic information (article title, journal name, author, date etc.), a summary or abstract of the article, and links to full text when available.

The JHU Libraries subscibe to over 400 databases and thousands of electronic journals.  We've created a database to manage a large portion of this information.  Use this database to find electronic resources in your area.  Or if you're just starting out the list below provides some of the most popular databases in the disciplines of earth and environmental studies. 

Not sure where to start? Contact your departmental librarian

Back to top

This link opens a new window - JHU Access

 

Academic Search Premier 

 

This database is a great place to start your research.  It contains a wide variety of scholarly and popular journals in a multitude of disciplines.  It covers both the science, technology, health, and policy issues.  It also contains a large number of full text articles.  A great database for undergraduate research. 

Back to top

This link opens a new window - JHU Access

 

AccessScience

 

This is the online version of the Encyclopedia of Science and Technology.  It is searchable and contains a science dictionary, encyclopedia articles, research updates, and bibliographic information for further research.  If you're a humanities major taking a science or engineering course, this can be a great place to get basic background information. 

Back to top

JHU

Applied Science and Technology Abstracts

 

This database covers more than 350 international, English-language periodicals in the sciences and technology. It indexes conference proceedings, journal articles, editorials, some letters, charts, tables, buyers' guides, etc. Coverage is from 1983 to the present.

Back to top

JHU

Info About

Compendex

 

Compendex is a comprehensive interdisciplinary database for engineering. It contains abstracts and links to full-text articles when available from over 5,100 sources,  including engineering journals, conference proceedings, and technical papers. Coverage is from 1970 to the present. 

 Back to top

JHU

Info About

GEOBASE

 

GeoBase is a multidisciplinary, international database supplying coverage for earth sciences, ecology, geomechanics, human geography and oceanography. It provides bibliographic information and abstracts of over 3,000 journals and archive coverage of several thousand additional titles. The material contained in the database includes references to scientific papers, trade journal and magazine articles, product reviews, directories and other material.

 Back to top

JHU

Info About

GeoRef

 

The GeoRef database, established by the American Geological Institute in 1966, provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. GeoRef is a comprehensive database in the geosciences and continues to grow by more than 70,000 references a year. The database contains over 2.2 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses.

 Back to top

JHU

 

LexisNexis Environmental

 

Lexis Nexis Environmental is divided into five distinct sections:

  1. Environmental Abstracts provides abstracts of scientific journal articles, conference papers, and technical reports.  Abstracts only, no full text. 
  2. News, Journals & Commentary provides full text of Environmental Law Reviews, Environmental News, Environmental Law Reports, and Environmental Law Treatises.
  3. Codes & Regulations provides Public Laws, United States Codes, Code of Federal Regulation and the Federal Register, and State Codes.
  4. Case Law & Agency Actions provides Federal Environmental Law Cases, Federal Environmental Agency Decissions, State Environmental Law Cases, State  Environmental Agency Decissions, and Federal and State Compliance Enforement.
  5. Waste & Materials provides Superfund Records, Federal & State Site Reviews, State Waste Records, and Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) on thousands of products.

This is a very comprehensive database and fairly easy to use. 

Back to top 

Homewood

Info About

MathSciNet (Mathematical Reviews)

 

MathSciNet provides comprehensive coverage of international research in mathematics and mathematically related research in statistics, computer science, physics, operations research, engineering, biology, and other disciplines. The database also contains links to the full text of numerous articles. Coverage is from 1940 to the present.

Back to top

JHU

Info About

NTIS (National Technical Information Service)

 

The NTIS database contains bibliographic information on scientific and technical reports of research conducted by Federal Agencies and their contractors. The database covers reports from 1982 to the present.  Since the governement does a lot of science in the environmental and earth sciences these can be useful reports.

Back to top

This link opens a new window. - JHU Access

This link opens a new window. - Science Citation Index Info About

Science Citation Index (choose ISI Web of Science)

 

This is a CITATION INDEX, not a subject index. While you can search this database by author, journal title and subject term, it is first and foremost used to search cited references. Coverage is from 1945 to the present.
 
The uses of a cited reference search are:

  • Discovering who is citing particular research and how it is being used to support current research.
  • Tracking the research activities of colleagues or competitors.
  • Following the history of an idea or a method from its first communication to the present day.

It does not contain conference papers, patents, standards, test methods, tecnical reports or other forms of information beyond journal articles.   

 Back to top

This link opens a new window. - Eisenhower Access

This link opens a new window. - SciFinder Scholar Info About

SciFinder Scholar (the easiest way to access Chemical Abstracts, 1947 - current)

* For JHU machines not in the Eisenhower Library, install the SciFinder Scholar client software on your JHU or JHMI computer and access it from your desktop.

 

SciFinder Scholar is a comprehensive chemistry bibliographic database available from Chemical Abstracts Service and CAS Registry System, a chemical structure and dictionary database containing more than 20 million unique chemical substance records. It is the world's largest and most current source of chemical information.
 
The Registry System contains all types of inorganic and organic substances including alloys, biosequences, coordination compounds, minerals, mixtures, polymers, and salts.
 
SciFinder Scholar covers international journals, patents, patent families, technical reports, books, conference proceedings, and dissertations from all areas of chemistry, biochemistry, chemical engineering, and related sciences from 1947 to the present. Since October, 1994, all articles from more than 1,350 key chemical journals are added, including citations for document types not covered in Chemical Abstracts (CA): biographical items, book reviews, editorials, errata, letters to the editor, news announcements, product reviews, meeting abstracts, and miscellaneous items.
 
 Back to top


Print Indexes

While online databases are wonderful  for finding more recent articles, most older material will be only indexed in print indexes. When doing historical research be sure to check the print indexes as well.
 
There maybe additional indexes in your area of study that are not listed here, see your departmental librarian for suggestions.

Back to top

 

 

 


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

 

 

 

 

 
 
   
 
 



STAFF DIRECTORY | PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES | CONTACT US | SITE MAP | HOURS

Sheridan Libraries
3400 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21218
(410)-516-8335
Copyright 2008 | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy